Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/)
-   Electric Club Car (http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/electric-club-car/)
-   -   Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC??? (http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/electric-club-car/85200-2nd-opinion-bad-obc.html)

bricks 09-05-2013 05:49 PM

Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
A little background. Bought a 96 Club Car DS from a friend knowing that it had problems with charging and running. Having previously owned a 97 Club Car DS that had a bad OBC, I figured that that is what is wrong with this cart. Charger will not kick on and charge. When you plug charger in the orange light on the dash comes on but charger does not engage. I tried my charger on the cart next door, and it does charge that cart, so I think the charger is OK.

The fuse on the back of the charging receptacle appears to be good, as does the fuse in-line on the grey wire. I jumpered from the grey wire on the back of the charging receptacle to the #6 negative terminal, and the charger will kick on and charge. If I remember correctly, this indicates a bad OBC. This is what we did on the 97 cart, and replacing the OBC fixed that problem.

Do you think it would be worth my time to do a reset of the OBC before ordering a new one? I really feel like the OBC is shot and needs to be replaced.

What about a 2nd opinion before I order the OBC!

Thanks in advance.
Bob

crash test dummy 09-05-2013 05:59 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
yes do an OBC reset
if it still does not charge you have 3 choices
1) replace OBC $211 +s/h
2) get a DPI charger $285+s/h (ScottyB) http://www.cartsunlimited.n/48v_Battery_Charger.html old charger can be sold to recoup some of cost
3) install auto timer $106 + S/H

H8R71 09-05-2013 07:49 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crash test dummy (Post 927761)
yes do an OBC reset
if it still does not charge you have 3 choices
1) replace OBC $211 +s/h
2) get a DPI charger $285+s/h (ScottyB) http://www.cartsunlimited.n/48v_Battery_Charger.html old charger can be sold to recoup some of cost
3) install auto timer $106 + S/H

FWIW, I went with option #3 on the 96 DS I aquired not long ago which had a bad OBC. Seems to work just like the OBC would. Also, very simple to install. I would recommend one for a cost effective repair.

bricks 09-05-2013 09:41 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
So if I go with option 3 all I have to do is hook this into the charger and bypass the OBC, or does the piece hook into the cart.

H8R71 09-05-2013 09:51 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
Using option 3, the unit will mount to the front of the charger. There is some rewiring of the charger involved as well as bypassing the OBC. It may sound intimidating but is surprisingly simple. The unit comes with good instructions and wiring diagrams.

H8R71 09-05-2013 10:00 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
1 Attachment(s)
Here's a picture of my charger showing the unit mounted. Sorry about it being upside down.

bricks 09-05-2013 10:01 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
Got it. Thanks. This may be the route I go. Cheapest replacement OBC I have found is $200 plus shipping so this is certainly worth checking in to!

bricks 09-07-2013 09:32 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
Did a reset of OBC. Charger still did not come on. Hooked jumper to grey wire agin and charger came on. Left charger hooked up for 4 1/2 hours and went back to cart barn. Hooked everything back up normal and the cart ran good! Battery pack was 51.9v after this charge. Thought I would hook charger up to see what would happen, and it came on and started charging batteries.

I left the charger plugged in, and will get a pack reading when I go to the course tomorrow. I still think the OBC is the culprit because the dash light was coming on while it was charging.

Will post pack voltage tomorrow when I get home from course.

crash test dummy 09-07-2013 09:44 PM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
i wonder if pack voltage was to low to kick on charger ....

bricks 09-08-2013 07:36 AM

Re: Need 2nd opinion-Bad OBC???
 
Crash Test Dummy, I thought of that too, but since the light has been coming on and going off for a while, I still think the OBC is screwed. Will check the voltage when I get to the course today after it sat all night and see what it is. Going to try to get 18 holes out of it and see if the charger kicks back on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
This Website and forum is the property of Buggiesgonewild.com. No material may be taken or duplicated in part or full without prior written consent of the owners of buggiesgonewild.com. 2006-2017 Buggiesgonewild.com. All rights reserved.