lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk!
Big Block Talk! Everything about swapping a big block engine into your cart!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-24-2013, 12:19 PM   #1
mrbracket
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Newbie gets first cart, wants to big block it!

Hi guys,

As the title points out, I'm a newbie, just bought my first cart. It's an older Cushman, from what I've researched, it's a mid 1970's GC400.

It came sans engine, perfect excuse for a big block!!! Thinking I'll just buy one of the Harbor Freight engines?? Or should I spring for the Vegas Carts engine??

I will need a primary clutch too. Should I get the Comet 94c or the CPP06??

Do any of you have experience with this cart? Will the rear end hold up to the big block power? Does my driven clutch look like it will work? I notice that most modern carts have the belt running 90deg from the way mine is. Will a big block even work in my cart? Can anyone tell me what kind of engine mine had in it when new?

Thanks in advance,
Mike
mrbracket is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-25-2013, 04:37 PM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: Newbie gets first cart, wants to big block it!

With that cart you'll need an engine that spins ccw right? Which way does the axle spin when going forward? Also, I think that axle does not have reverse? If it was a two stroke engine it likely would run backwards to be able to have reverse. Not sure what cart that is....
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 07:36 PM   #3
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

Most of those around here are electric. It looks like a gear box or is it just a governor? Shift that thing and roll it, see if the direction changes. Should be able to fit a clone in there. Find out how wide the stock belt is. You would have something uncommon if you got it rolling.