Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Electric EZGO (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Decisions, Decisions... DCS to PDF Conversion??? (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=86709)

CedzGo 10-13-2013 11:50 AM

Decisions, Decisions... DCS to PDF Conversion???

Good Morning, BGW

Newbie here needing some advice... I've read and researched so much that I've honestly confused myself. LOL...

Alright: Here's the situation. I have a 36v 1998 EzGo txt (DCS), with an Alltrax 400a controller and stock motor. Everything else is stock. I couldnt've been happier with the performance. It would chirp the tires on take off, and run 22 mph all day without breaking a sweat.

Now comes the issue: My controller is blown, and no longer operable. I've tested the solenoid, motor, and controller separately. My local buggies store has informed me that the DCS with the weakened FNR switch are just not very reliable to begin with, and suggested that we components be switched out to the more reliable PDS components.

I have no problem with that at all, if it's completely necessary. My worry is the possible performance loss. I test drove a stock PDS, and it struggled to get to 13 mph. My question is: What can I expect with the stock PDS motor and a 400a controller? Will my performance be on par with what I previously had. Logically, it should be, but man, that stock PDS was rediculously slow, and once you've been bitten by the speed bug, you can't go back to stock.

I'm tempted to just replace the controller, and keep going. How bad are the DCS TXT's? Will I regret not doing the conversion while I have the chance, or will the DCS continue to give me issues?

I'm also considering 22 inch wheels to replace the stock wheels and tires I'm running now.

Thanks Team BGW!!!

caddymankc 10-13-2013 12:12 PM

Re: Decisions, Decisions... DCS to PDF Conversion???