Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Gas Yamaha (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   G1 is latest edition to the stable (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=98241)

1970buick 08-27-2014 07:27 PM

G1 is latest edition to the stable

5 Attachment(s)
I bought my first gas cart today, 1979 G1 gas cart. I am very familiar with electric carts, having a precedent and G29, but this is my first attempt with a gas motor buggy. I went to look at it today and the guy sold it for $100. It is not pretty by any means but it is all there and I think it could be a sweet retro looking cart! I plan to add rear buckets and have it looking resto-mod "ish". I need to get her running first though. Owner said it left him stranded this past week and he didn't want to fool with it. When you turn the key to forward or reverse it turns over very well. It seems as though it is not getting any gas. My first thought was fuel pump, filter, or lines. Well, I found the fuel line not hooked up to the carb and a big gash in it. I will start here and then see where it goes! Wish me luck and I look forward to being a part of the gas crowd....

86G1monster 08-27-2014 07:36 PM

Re: G1 is latest edition to the stable

good luck man and welcome to the g1 club they are so easy to work on and mod. oh congrats on the steal by the way:thumbup:

Cvans 08-27-2014 07:56 PM

That's 300% nicer than mine was and you got yours for a lot less money. Good luck with the new cart!

1970buick 08-27-2014 08:51 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Thanks guys. It does need some work. I am debating on keeping it completely stock for the old school look or lifting it 4" and adding bigger wheels and low profile tires. Decisions, decisions. I need to get it running first and do a tune up!

stalt 08-29-2014 08:17 PM