Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Gas EZGO (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   295 pre-mci upper engine noise (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=187023)

Romartin1 09-28-2022 06:44 PM

295 pre-mci upper engine noise

New member, hello all. Tech by trade with 97 txt. Rebuilt the 295 a year ago with everything nee but crank and rods, runs great. My issue is these little engines seem to be noisy. Mine has top end rattle. Correct oil, tried valve lash at .004, .005 and .006 with no difference. Recently took rocker shaft and rockers out and cranked engine and it was very quiet. Is it common for these engines to be loud or maybe I have some excessive wear on valve train, didn't notice anything abnormal during the rebuild. Buddy has a newer 295 mci engine and much quieter. I would appreciate any feedback. We use this cart at the lake hauling family and friends, not fast but strong as an ox. I have been all through this cart just would love to quiet it down a bit. Thanks in advance.

slonomo 09-28-2022 09:30 PM

Re: 295 pre-mci upper engine noise

These engines are known to have oiling issues, particularly to the cylinder farthest from the oil pump (cylinder 2?) and corresponding valvetrain. I have seen failures in rockers, cam, and connecting rod from lack of oil in two carts I've owned, one 295 and one 350. I have found some people claim the aftermarket oil screens are a possible fault. Some have said oil weight can be an issue causing oil flow/pressure issues, and some have said oil additives can be an issue. Of course lack of maintenance is always an issue and even more so on these engines.