Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Gas Yamaha (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Compare G1's thru other G models (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=103206)

zonian911 02-25-2015 08:58 PM

Compare G1's thru other G models

Newbie here; I acquired my father in law's 1981 G1 and have already fell in love with it. I would like to add a rear seat kit to it but have only found one plain bench seat style kit for $300 but have seen some awesome looking kits for other "G" models for close to the same price. My question is how much difference is there between these models when it comes to accessorizing and is there a model that might fit into the close enough category? I can't fabricate my own seat due to lack welding skills but can Jerry rig a bit. Thanks in advance for any help I may get, this forum has been an awesome help for me on other subjects already.

Field6565 02-25-2015 10:04 PM

Re: Compare G1's thru other G models

Welcome to the site! I'm sure that a rear seat from another cart can be made to fit. I have two G1s and have custom made front/rear seats for them. As far as the G1 being close to other "G" models......it's not. It's really in its own category.

slonomo 02-27-2015 07:01 AM

The biggest difference with the G1 is that it's the only model that the whole main body section flips/hinges up and back to gain access to the engine compartment. No other Yamaha does this. This may create a problem with your back seat idea. Some of the seats have foot rests that hang down in the rear, and may cause interference? I'd say if you are looking for a cart to modify and customize, the G1 is definitely NOT the best cart for that. However, the G1 is a cool cart! I have two of them, and have worked on several. They are classics, very durable, and extremely easy to work on.

TheNewGuy 02-27-2015 08:03 AM