Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum

Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/index.php)
-   Electric EZGO (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Motor & Solenoid to hot to touch (https://www.buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=96903)

pjpolk 07-26-2014 04:28 AM

Motor & Solenoid to hot to touch

New to the site looking for help with a 2009 36v PDS.
Cart has been lifted with 23" tire installed.
Recently installed one Scotties upgrade kits along with the heavy duty wiring.
Cart runs great, but every so often the cart stalls, I simply turn the key off and back on and it clears the problem.
After 30 minutes of running the motor and new solenoid become extremly hot to the touch.
Pulled the wiring Diagrahm out to double check the install all seems to be correct.
As I am new to the golf cart world can anyone tell me my next move.
Thanks

yurtle 07-26-2014 05:03 AM

Re: Motor & Solenoid to hot to touch

"Extremely hot" is somewhat subjective, but "too hot to touch" is less so. Do you have access to a handheld IR temperature gun? If not, try wetting you finger - just like Mom used to do to see if her iron was hot - and briefly touch them to see if they sizzle.

Your tires are pretty big. Which upgrade package did you install? Also, what are your driving habits as far as passengers, hills, load (rear seat, cargo), duration, etc. Also, probably wouldn't hurt to know the age and at rest voltage of your batteries, and whether you charge them after every use. Anything else you can think of.

Did you reinstall the old controller cover? If so, did you modify it? Check temperature on the controller when it stalls. Do you have a laptop and cable to connect to the controller? If so, it can tell you its temperature.

JohnnieB 07-26-2014 06:53 AM

In addition to the questions yurtle posed, is the LED on the controller blinking Red after the cart misbehaves and prior to being reset by turning off the key?

If so, how many blinks.