lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-09-2011, 09:11 AM   #1
russstalvey
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 ST350 Not Running, gas and spark but no fire

I am not an expert by any means, but have re-built a lot of tractor motors and car motors and a lawn mower or two. If anyone can pass along any ideas that would be great and I appreciate it.

The symptom: Will not fire at all at any time.

What I know at this point after going over cart:
1) Initially checked plugs, they were very wet and possibly fuel fouled. Replaced them and checked for fire by grounding plug, spinning motor. Plug had spark, weak from what I am used to, but it was there. I can usually hear the spark when testing but not on this. I turned lights out and checked for possible crack in plug wires, none found, spark only coming from plug. Turned lights back on, scratched head and a few other places then continued troubleshooting.

2) Looking in the carb while turning over motor, saw fuel spitting into intake when opening throttle open wide. Not atomized very well, so I took the carb off to look for floating junk in carb or perhaps a stuck open needle valve. Needle valve seemed free, and really didn't find any dirt in carb. Fuel pump works fine, checked it before and after carb work, and after putting carb back on there was fuel going into the intake from the jet afterwards.

3) Checked compression, seems low to me (50 pounds) with no throttle, but when I open throttle while testing compression both cylinders have over 165 psi. Checked valve adjustments and they were at about .007 intitially and readjusted to .004. I race formula vees and do my own valve adjustments, so this is pretty basic to me.