lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-12-2011, 07:12 PM   #1
mchineboy
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default 85 Club Car Wife Says It's Too Stinky.

First, a little back story.

I bought the cart from a kid a few blocks away who had the motor half torn apart. At some point (he wasn't terribly clear when) it lost all power and was barely able to drive it home. He had the local village idiot, I mean golf car repair guy, take a look. He told him "broken valve, and $300 to repair it". So the kid basically unloaded it to me and I towed it behind my Jeep home.

I have a lot of experience with little motors so I figure I'll rebuild the top half, and move on. Polished the cylinder head, valve seats, removing all of the built up carbon crud. Replaced the rings, piston, exhaust and intake valves, and all related gaskets. From the looks of things, this wasn't this little motor's first rodeo because they used the kind of gasket goop that takes a chisel and acts of god to remove.

Re-assembled, and the little sucker now runs and starts up fine doesn't even need a choke in the morning. Still doesn't get above 14 - 15 MPH, but that's fine by me since the kids will probably drive it more than me.

Now for the problem: The wife hates the way it "smells" which smells like it's running rich to me. All of the posts that even relate to this subject say things like, turn the mixture screw all the way in, then 2.5 turns out. This however seems a little too easy. Is there an "official" Kawasaki method that works? Otherwise, I'm just going to "play with it" until it doesn't smell.

Thanks!

Edit: Maybe I should remind her of a time when all small motors had that distinct smell.
mchineboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-12-2011, 08:21 PM   #2
wooly15