lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-03-2019, 09:02 PM   #1
aintgotthis
Not Yet Wild

Default RXV hit by Lightning

I have recently came into possession of a 2012 RXV that was one of three carts hits by lightning. I thought I would give one a try to see if I could figure anything out. First of all, I am a Club Car trained tech and have dove a little deeper than the average wrench monkey.

The cart has a 1206ac-5201 controller. 48v pack voltage. The parking brake will not release in tow and neutral (fuses are good) but will when bypassed by switching the wires. The cart will jerk back and forth when put into run but no response from the accel pedal. Reverse buzzer works.

I have Curtis 1314-4402 programming station running at Factory level and the usb purchased from ebay. Using the Club Car adapter I was able to jump to the RXV diagnostic plug and open the controller to see diagnostics. I have HPD, Controller Overcurrent and EM Brake Driver OC faults. I tested the brake at 24.5 ohms but I think the FET is burnt in the controller. Is there any way to turn off the braking system in the controller to test the rest of the cart? I realize there will be absolutely no brakes but I would like see if the motor, accelerator and other systems are still working after being hit by lightning. I am afraid the cart will be scrapped if not.
aintgotthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-03-2019, 11:07 PM   #2
jkredman
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: RXV hit by Lightning

Your main issue is the brake. The cart jerking is a failure of the brake twist test.

The controller is programmed to try and turn the motor with the brake locked. You should some clicking, but no movement.