lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-19-2011, 11:07 PM   #1
jmottr01
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Default G1 engine swap but now what about reverse?

Okay, I am new to the cart world and just bought this cart (1985 G1) for $200. The piston came apart so it wont run. Seems like a perfect time to fit it with MORE POWER! I want to put in a 550 snowmobile engine but I am not sure if I will maintain reverse since it seems that in this cart the electronics reverse the engine to control direction. Please tell me if I am way off base since the cart never ran. I just dont see a mechanical option in it to change the direction.
jmottr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-20-2011, 05:25 AM   #2
chuddly
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: G1 engine swap but now what about reverse?

you are right...you would have to change the rear end to a 4 stroke cart rear end to do what you are wanting. UNLESS you went with a Yamaha Bravo snowmobile engine because they can run in reverse and most all of the G1's electronics will fit on it.

Now that being said the stock power on a G1 isnt bad and they are DIRT CHEAP to rebuild. You might think about rebuilding it for now and then down the road doing a engine swap.
chuddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:03 AM   #3
jmottr01
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Okay, if I do decide to rebuild this one will I have any issues if I use an oversized piston? I am in AZ and I am concerned about overheating. Or should I just order standard with a new jug since the piston scored mine up pretty good.
Old 03-20-2011, 09:38 AM   #4
kcnaz
Gone Wild
Yamaha