lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-12-2019, 03:35 PM   #1
dcgunleather
Not Yet Wild

Default G14 Clutch Issues

I recently bought a well loved (used) G14 for 900 bucks. The previous owner had installed a 4" lift and 22" tires, and it was a dog. It wouldn't climb even a modest hill without plenty of momentum.

I'm new to carts but not to mechanics... so the first thing I did was fill with fresh gas, new air filter, new plug, adjust carb, check and adjust valves, etc. The cart ran great afterward but still wouldn't climb.

I bought and installed a Yamaha Power Kit from CPP including new clutch slides/buttons and severe duty belt. Man, what a difference! I believe my little buggy would climb straight up a tree.

Now, I've got a new problem. Before the power kit, my top speed was 22mph on a flat ground. After installing the kit I'm down to 10mph. I knew I'd lose a little top end, but 12mph??? Something didn't seem right.

I pulled the seat off, put the cart in neutral and floored the accelerator. The primary clutch isn't closing all the way, and the driven clutch isn't opening all the way. I verified, multiple times, that both clutches were working properly before the power kit install.

My thinking is that the stronger spring in the driven clutch is preventing the weak and worm primary clutch from closing as it should... almost as though my cart is never shifting out of low gear (if there was such a thing on a CVT).

Is a primary rebuild in my future? If so, what should I know? Best rebuild kit?
dcgunleather is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-12-2019, 04:47 PM   #2
Crackback
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: G14 Clutch Issues