lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-29-2015, 03:26 PM   #1
FlyingT
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default Building a mountain cart - suggestions

I'm a newbie to this site and any advice would be appreciated. I've been researching a bit and trying to come up with a plan to build my own hunting cart. The purpose is to get us up the mountain and park at the top. We hunt in MT and typically have either hiked or gone on horseback about 1.5miles on flat to 20% max grade in the morning on switchback roads and again on the evening archery hunt. We want an EV for stealth and I find the commercially available buggies to be costly and I'm wanting to build my own. I'm thinking of starting with an EZGO TXT model as the base. I need to maximize battery life and utilize a high torque engine. Types?

Any and all suggestions appreciated. Thanks!
FlyingT is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-29-2015, 04:16 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Building a mountain cart - suggestions

Welcome to BGW!

Stock golf cart specs is up to a 25% grade, so 20% grade shouldn't be much of a challenge. Inclines are hard to judge and percent of grade gets mixed up with degree of incline, so I attached a hill grade conversion chart.

I built my cart for range (distant traveled) and it does a bit over 30 miles on a single charge, travels about 28 MPH on level ground, stays above 20 MPH on hills less the 25% grade (14°) and tires run out of traction before the motor runs out torque when climbing steep hills.

One thing to remember is the taller the tires, the less torque you have available.

What kind of round trip distance do you need?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hill Grade Conversion Chart.JPG (71.3 KB, 0 views)