lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-29-2019, 09:00 AM   #1
Shanelee78
Not Yet Wild

Default Generator/starter overheating

Good morning all. I am new to this. Been up alot of the night searching for a solution. We just bought our kids a golf cart, it is a 1995 yamaha G9 gas. Previous owner could not keep it running. We cleaned the carb, rebuilt the top end, and bought a new generator/starter.

Yesterday I went to drive it home from where we had it which was about 2 miles away. I got half way home and it just died. Would not start back up. Lifted the seat and noticed smoke coming from the generator. Also notice one of the rubber caps was off that let's you see the brushes. The generator was very hot. Let it cool down, tried to start it but nothing, no clicking, no nothing. Towed it back to where we came from. Took the generator off, opened it up and it was fragmented inside, noticed the bearing was seized. It was an Ebay generator. Put the old generator back on, charged the battery, and tried going home again.

On our way home again, my daughter and I passed the spit where I broke down the first time and celebrated! Short lived however, 100 yards further and we broke down again. Lifted the seat and the old generator was smoking now. Got towed back to the house this time by my wife and her VW bug lol.

My question is, what are all the things that would make a generator overheat and quit? I looked on here all last night, downloaded wiring diagrams, checked everything over. All the wiring looks routed to the correct places. One more thing to note, I did notice there were some wires coming from the generator that was melted to the point you could see thr copper wire.

Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated!