lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-18-2021, 09:34 PM   #1
Etu
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 vs 2013 ezgo clutch engage

Ok so I just got my second ezgo gas cart a 2013 with the 400 Kawasaki engine. I just got it yesterday so I'm still learning about the differences between the 290 Robbins in my 2004 and the Kawasaki. Now it seems the 290 is smoother and more responsive with more mid range power.
One huge difference is the clutch engagement. With the 2004 Robbins it starts real fast and I increase the engine speed a little before the drive engages.
On the 2013 Kawasaki it takes a lot longer to start and it's already moving along the ground before the engine starts.
I prefer the way the 2004 engages but I don't know if this is an adjustment or a different clutch.
Anyone have a clue?
Thanks
Etu is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-20-2021, 11:34 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: 2004 vs 2013 ezgo clutch engage

Probably not adjustable. Could be some room for improvement if the belt is worn or if the clutches are worn. Or it could be on the newer cart that the belt is tighter and/or newer and wants to grab before the clutches engage.

Generally speaking, though, two different engines, two different power curves. The clutches will be matched to the power/torque curve of the engine. The power delivery of each will also be different because the clutches and transaxles and maybe even tire sizes are different. So how they "feel" might be different for many reasons. But really just two different carts and they will feel different.