lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-07-2015, 07:20 AM   #1
smille5291
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Replacing brushes in motor ?

Working with a 2000 txt series cart... I ohm tested my motor and A1 and A2 have to much resistance..So like an idiot I buy a used motor that looked brand new and didn't bring my trusty Ohm meter along when I picked it up and the resistance is worse on that motor than my own $130 wasted.. I'm guessing usually the wires to the brushes are worn and that's why the resistance is high so replacing them should fix the problem ?? ... Any help is appreciated I'm a 50 yr old newbie to electric carts that likes to screw stuff up himself... So I usually spend a little more the first time...lol...
smille5291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-07-2015, 08:03 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Replacing brushes in motor ?

Here are links to download the service and parts manuals for you cart. Both have sections for series motors.
Service: http://products.jacobsen.com/img/manuals/28646.pdf
Parts: http://products.jacobsen.com/img/manuals/28789-g01.pdf

New internal wires come with new brushes.

The commutator most likely needs to be cleaned and dressed also.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 04:42 AM   #3
smille5291
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO