lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-23-2012, 11:42 AM   #1
KennyB07
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Club Car wont start with air filter installed

Hi, Newbie here. Just bought my first cart. Have searched for help and havent found anything.

I have a 96 DS with the fe290 engine. The cart was completely disassembled when I bought it. I got to the point where I could start and run the engine without the air box installed and my hand slightly covering the intake on the carb. My problem is, when I installed the airbox with a new filter, it wont even try to start and you can smell fuel. When I removed the filter from the airbox, it runs. It wont Idle well, and once you get it moving its will keep its rpm up and run fine, but will not run low speed.

Any direction I need to take on this? Carb was apart when I got it, everything seemed unplugged and clean. Doesnt seem to run any different when turning the the idler mixture screw. Starting point was turned in all the way then backed off 2 turns.

Any help is appreciated
Kenny B
KennyB07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-23-2012, 12:46 PM   #2
shoelessjoe
Gone Wild

Default Re: Club Car wont start with air filter installed

Is your choke mechanism working properly and not stuck and blocking air from passing through?