lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-02-2014, 01:08 PM   #1
raenglehart
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Default '94 Yamaha G9 Gas - No Start

Hey guys. I've been doing a lot of reading from your site here since acquiring a 1994 Yamaha G9 cart. It seems to have an intermitent "ghost" problem. I'll try to be brief.

Sometimes it just won't start. I have read and tried many things found on this site. I am an electrician by trade, so very familiar with elctronics, etc. I have the diagram for my model. Without going into a ton of details at this point, here's where I currently stand:

1) Fully charged (and even replaced) the battery. I have 13v at the input terminal on the starter solenoid. Press the gas pedal, solenoid contacts close, but I only get 3.5v on the output side of the solenoid. I do the old "jump the solenoid contacts" with a large screw driver and put my meter Pos + on the starter/generator contact (coming from the solenoid). I still only get 3.5 volts output (weird?). If I disconnect the output side of the solenoid and engage the pedal to close the contacts, it will read the full 13v at the output side of the starter solenoid.

2) To bypass everything on the cart, I hook direct to the battery terminals a set of jumper cables. Then connected directly to the Pos and Neg of the starter/generator and still, the power reading at the starter/generator is only reading 3.5 volts adn the starter/generator does not spin. That eliminates all cart related wiring.