lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-02-2020, 09:05 PM   #1
blaze 'em
Not Yet Wild

Default "First time, long time" plus need help

Hello everyone. I've been a lurker here for a very long time and have come to realize the wealth of information available here from some very knowledgeable folks. Usually I can find info on what I am looking for until recently. So, I signed up and decided to make my own post.

That being said, I'm having hell diagnosing my charging issue on an 04 club car. I'm not a "parts changer", would rather narrow it down if possible. I've read countless threads saying "change the voltage regulator" but im not 100% sure that is the issue. I'm no mechanic by any means but I do know how to take stuff apart and put it back together and how to use a voltmeter. So....

1st I replaced the solenoid. No doubt it was bad. Not sure about pic rules here but ill try and upload. Temporarily solved the problem and was up and running but then wouldn't crank.

2nd I got a brand new battery. Dead after about 8hrs of service. Recharged and luckily its fine.

3rd, got out the voltmeter, and with the cart in "service mode" checked voltage with key off, key on, and running. Ruled out a gremlin draw with key off, and checked draw with key on but not running and its minimal. Reconnect terminals and fire it up.

Key off voltage 13.1
Key on voltage 13.1
Running right at idle started and 12.66 and dropped .01 every 5 seconds or so.
Gave it some rpm and it temporarily gained but never back to 13.1 and soon was falling again.

It almost acted like it was holding at higher rpms, but if too high governor would kick in and I'd lose a whole tenth of a volt. So now 12.5 and holding until let back off to idle. Now down to the .01 loss every few seconds.