lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-03-2021, 11:21 AM   #1
HunterO
Not Yet Wild

Default 2000 EZGO TXT No Power After Radio Harness Caught Fire

Hello, first off I'm new here so bare with me as I'm not an electrician and this is my first golf carts. Quick rundown... Got the golf cart from a family member. 2000 EZGO TXT Series 36V. It was delivered from the shop where it had brand new 6 6v batteries installed. While I was driving the inside of the dash started smoking pretty bad right behind the crappy radio receiver that was installed. It was not installed by the shop. Not sure who did it prior to my possession of the cart. Lucky I was able to rip out the receiver but not before a cloud of smoke and flame was seen. Once it all cleared there was obvious damage to the radio wiring harness. A black and yellow wire coming off the radio to the radio harness had touched. These wires were badly taped together and I'm not sure why they didnt have a connector. The wires going to the key switch that were also behind that dash did not have any damage. However, after examining everything I went to turn the cart back on and the voltmeter had no power and the cart would not go. I got power to the lights but nothing else. Also, the charger will not turn on when I plug it into the cart. After numerous searches and youtube videos here is everything that I have tried with no success. If you have an idea of what might be going on please reply as I'm doing everything I can not to spend money at a repair shop.

1. Checked the only 2 fuses I could find which were the 15amps in the the fuse box under the seat. Both were good.
2. I put a voltmeter on the main terminals at battery pack and got 36v