lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-18-2019, 12:30 PM   #1
Dabble Inn
Nincompoop Club Member

E-Z-GO

Default Muffler BBQ

My 85 has been getting louder lately so I got under it to get a look-see, it was missing one 'exhaust pipe to cylinder' stud and the other one was loose. Guess I shouldn't have used anti-seize on them when rebuilt two years ago, but while fixing that I noticed a lot of gunk had developed on the cylinder around the exhaust port. Considering how much there was in such a relatively short period of time I could't imagine how much was in the muffler after 34 years........

So, since I've never done it before I decided to have a muffler bbq and make a party out of it too. I split the wood rather small to achieve a hotter fire (3 beers). Then got the fire roaring hot (3 more beers), then laid the muffler on it and kept feeding more wood under and above (lost count of how many more beers). I periodically checked the temp of the muffler with a heat gun, The max reading on the gun is 1000* and it kept reading over temp lol......

Not sure what to do with it before installing, would it be ok to flush it out with the garden hose/pressure washer? Maybe bang on the sides of it with a hammer too? Or just install since it got that hot for many hours it must have burned it out?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190917_185455.jpg (334.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 20190917_190928.jpg (291.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 20190917_191655.jpg (280.8 KB, 0 views)
Dabble Inn is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-18-2019, 12:55 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: Muffler BBQ

I gotta admit it's kinda fun when they get the flame thrower happening