lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-26-2009, 03:10 PM   #1
Jomama78
Not Yet Wild

Default refurbish motor & batteries

Hello everyone… Newbie here. I just purchased an older EzGo cart and have some questions as I have never owned any type of golf cart before. The cart had not been used for the last 2-3 years, maybe longer… it just sat in a storage shed without the charger connected.

When we got the cart the battery cables were so corroded that they were broke loose from the batteries. I wire brushed the terminals and replaced the cables with new ones from the auto store. I was refilling the batteries with distilled water before our 1st charge and one had a crack in the side... the others did not require much topping off. I removed this battery and bypassed it… so I only have 5 batteries in the cart now. Is running off 5 batteries bad? Pricing batteries (E-3600 battery) came to about $88.95 each… is this average price?

The shop told me that they need my old battery or I would be charged an additional $10. This got me thinking about why they would want my old battery… so I searched for reconditioning batteries on the web and came across several interesting articles. I also came across this site. I have read numerous threads on here and also about the distilled water and Epsom Salt battery refill method. I realize that once the plates are gone, well they are gone… junk. My batteries have a 2003 sticker on the side… is it worth trying the Epsom Salt and water or should I just get new batteries? $600 is a lot for batteries so I would like to keep it as cheap as possible.