lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-18-2021, 10:29 AM   #1
Jwcc89
Not Yet Wild

Default Yamaha g9 “choking”

Hey all! First post here. I have a Yamaha g9, bought about a year ago, has a lift, otherwise appears bone stock. A few weeks ago I was driving down the road, full throttle as I usually do and the engine started choking.
I’m not a mechanic, but have an ok knowledge of engines motors etc. to me it seemed to be a lack of fuel. The cart runs ok up to half throttle, after that it starts to bog down, and at full throttle it chokes.

I have replaced the carb, fuel pump, air and fuel filters, and intake tube (it felt soft so I thought maybe it was collapsing). If the intake tube and filter are taken off, it runs pretty good, seems a little sluggish than it used to, but can be full throttled. Put intake tube in and it starts to choke, put the air filter on and it is even worse.

When adjusting the air/fuel mixture on the carb, it makes no difference in the way the engine runs. All the way in to all the way out and everywhere in between, air filter and tube in or off, no changes when adjusting the carb.

So I’m stuck on what to look at or check next. Also, when running at half throttle down the road it will maintain about 13mph, but if it even comes to a slight hill, it starts to bog and choke like there is no power.

EDIT: I drained the fuel, and put new gas in, I also adjusted the valves, which were pretty close when I started. I bypassed the governor in the axle thinking that could have been part of the issue, however same issue.
Jwcc89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-19-2021, 10:38 AM   #2
Jwcc89
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: Yamaha g9 “choking”