lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-01-2022, 02:18 PM   #1
Victor B
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Lithium battery suddenly reverse polarity and changed voltage!

I just bought this cart yesterday and was giving it a good test out today. It was running great for about a half mile, and then suddenly it stopped dead. Before taking off, I had checked the voltages of the system and the individual batteries, and all was normal. After it died, I tested the batteries right then and there with my voltmeter I had with me, and the last battery is now reading -24v. This means that it reversed polarity and changed voltage.

I have zero experience with lithium batteries and do not even know how this is even possible. The cart was running great when this happened. How can a battery suddenly change its polarity and voltage? Can it be fixed or is the battery bad?

Victor B is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-01-2022, 03:00 PM   #2
rngilliland
Gone Wild

Default Re: Lithium battery suddenly reverse polarity and changed voltage!

This is just a guess, but the bms may have shut that battery down. The voltage you are reading is the other two batteries in series. Some lithium batteries need to have the bms reset if they shut down. Some batteries have a switch or button to turn the battery on. Some of them I think you plug the charger in to reset the bms.

I would call Allied battery and ask them.
rngilliland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2022, 03:24 PM   #3
Volt_Ampere
Gone Wild
Yamaha

The BMS has shut down on that battery. I don't like that setup and I don't know how you reset the BMS on those but you need to get them charged properly. Contact Allied.
Volt_Ampere is offline   Reply With Quote