lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-03-2011, 10:41 PM   #1
ascauto3
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Lightbulb Hill Climb Upgrade for 36v 97 DS - Try 48v or Motor?

I am new to carts and have spent practically my entire weekend reading this forum. Thanks in advance to everyone for posting so much great information.

I recently inhereted an incredible custom '47 pickup cart built on a 1997 Club Car 36 volt series cart with a V-Glide/Resistor setup. Everything is stock including the 6 AWG wiring.

The primary function of this cart will be to get me from our house to the lake which involves a very sizable hill (600 ft at a steep angle) about a 1/4 miles drive total. Never working much with carts before, I never considered that this would be an issue. This weekend I took it for the first ride and learned that with a fresh charge, the cart just barely made it up the hill. I was on the rug, barely moving and had visions of towing it home with the truck... there was also a nice smell of burning.

Upon returning home I started the research and now 24 hours later am asking for advice. I clearly need more power - but what do you recommend?

The cart has 6x one-year-old batteries. If they were old, I'd immediately consider putting 8 volts in it.

As I see it I have a few options:

Upgrade the motor and wires. With this route I'd go to AWG-4 throughout, put in a new solenoid and am looking at this motor on ebay:
Motor