lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-14-2012, 08:46 AM   #1
KY Gun Geek
Not Yet Wild

Default Guy says PW charger won't shut off - how do I diagnose?

When i got my second cart (97 TXT which needed some love) the guy i bought it from told me that the charger worked, but wouldn't turn off, and that he thought it was a pretty cheap fix (yeah, right)

I used my the charger that came with my '98 (also a PW, dunno if these are the same model) and all seems well, so I am not in a major bind.

Now I am getting around to fixing the charger. However, I'm a little unsure about just plugging up a cart and seeing what goes wrong. Seems like over charging batteries could be a bad thing. I'm a newbie, and I'm not really sure what should actually happen yet.

Any ideas as to how to handle this?
KY Gun Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-14-2012, 09:14 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Guy says PW charger won't shut off - how do I diagnose?

When you say you used your 2nd charger and 'all seems well' do mean to say it shut off? If yes, then plug the 1st charger that won't shut off in and monitor the batteries, voltage should eventually reach 44-46v and the charger should shut off. If the charger runs for 16 hours plus or the charger gets hot (not warm) to touch, you may need a new circuit board.
Check the water levels in each cell before you start & Monitor the battery voltage to make sure they don't get above 48v. Lets call that number the red line!
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:40 AM   #3
KY Gun Geek
Not Yet Wild

Yep - the 2nd charger cycled and turned off.

I have not even attempted a charge with the suspect one.

Any idea of the cost of a board? Where can I get them?