lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > Big Block Talk! > Bike & ATV Engine Swaps

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-16-2010, 04:59 AM   #1
SteveRand
Yamahaulin' CC Rider

Mixed Breed

Default Considering a 1,000cc Goldwing into a Yamaha G2

So, what are your thoughts on stuffing a 1,000cc Honda Goldwing flat-4 into a Yamaha G2? Crazy, right?!

I have a complete bike with a badly rusted frame, but a beautifully running engine, and a G2 that I've been rebuilding for the past 2 years.

I'm not a speed fanatic, I just think it would be an interesting project. I've always liked sleepers - I built a 350 Vega wagon back in the day, and I loved my '90 Taurus SHO. It's fun to humiliate the occasional Porsche...

Has anyone attempted this swap? Should I remain sane and keep the 9 HP Yamaha mill, or maybe a traditional big block swap?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated!
SteveRand is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-16-2010, 05:23 AM   #2
rib33024

Default Re: Considering a 1,000cc Goldwing into a Yamaha G2

Steve

If you got the fab skills, an the motor, and the cart, O and some $$$ to play with, I say go for it, That would be cool, That motor would run smooth in that cart,---You need to do some measuring and make sure it is going to fit, and figure out how to hook that motor to the rear axle
rib33024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 10:44 AM   #3
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

I would go for it, if I thought I could make it fit and connect the power. Otherwise if you are budget minded the 16 clone is a great option to stock. Just beware of the clearance issue to the rear shock, but its pretty cheap to do and easily double the power. Its way fun compared to stock at similar cost to rebuild (if you pay for one to be rebuilt) long as you can fab the install.
sho305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 11:00 AM   #4