lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-11-2022, 10:27 AM   #1
snowkyle1
Not Yet Wild
Mixed Breed

Default Engine starts running backwards at stop.

hello forum! My name is Kyle Kendall and I am a small engine mechanic in the Eastern Oregon area. My specialty has been in construction and landscape equipment but I have become the de facto golf cart mechanic as there is no dealership in our area and no other mechanics that are willing to work on golf carts. I have a 1996 club car DS that I've been working on for a customer. Complaint is car doesn't want to start on occasion. I found that if you mash d the gas to the floor, it wouldn't start, but if you just give it a small amount of throttle it would fire right up. I've replaced fuel pump, fuel filters, fuel lines, cleaned the fuel tank cleaned the carburetor, replaced the carburetor, replaced the air filter, and finally checked and adjusted the valve lash. Now, the engine will occasionally backfire and or reverse direction upon stopping. Now my first thought was that I screwed something up when I adjusted the valves, but I have double and triple checked the clearances and they are within spec at top dead center on the compression stroke. I do not want to give this cart back to my customer as it seems to pose a safety risk. Any thoughts or ideas are greatly appreciated, next thing on my list I guess would be removing the cylinder head to check for excessive carbon buildup, but I want to make sure it's not something simpler that I'm overlooking.
snowkyle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-11-2022, 11:28 AM   #2
Fairtax4me
Bonafide Nincompoop

Club Car

Default Re: Engine starts running backwards at stop.