lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-09-2012, 05:04 AM   #1
Soupy96
Not Yet Wild

Default G1 runs but no speed or power

Hello All

I am new to this so please excuse me if there is a related thread. I tried to find info but couldn't narrow it down.

I recently started rebuilding an older G1, not sure of the year.

We can get the engine running but the cart does not go very fast and the engine does not rev up. I removed the carb and cleaned it out and it went good for a minute but after I let off the throttle and took it down off the jacks NO POWER.

There is good spark and the exhaust get hot.
Just wondering if anyone knows where I should look next.

Thanks

Last edited by Soupy96; 09-09-2012 at 05:06 AM.. Reason: fix title
Soupy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-09-2012, 07:59 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: G1 runs but no speed or power

Well, there really isn't an easy answer to your issues if you are not familiar with these carts or with 2 stroke engines. I'll give you the shortest answer I can then you can ask questions....

1. Engine Compression

2. Fuel Pressure

3. Carburator

4. Ignition

5. Primary Clutch

6. Secondary Clutch

7. Drive Belt

These are the major contributors to poor performance. I would start at the top and check all of these areas. You'll find alot of threads here dealing with each one. Also check the "Stickies" at the top of the Yamaha thread section. The stickies are common problems that have been solved.
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:06 AM   #3
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha