lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-13-2020, 02:42 AM   #1
Nsmustang55ol
Not Yet Wild

Default Lester Summit 2 Question Txt 48v

I got my Summit 2 charger in the other day. So far so good. I however did notice that let’s say I get to 99% charged. I can unplug the charger, move the cart from shop to garage, plug chArger back in and now it says 55% and continues to charge. I’m still learning the characteristics of this charger so I wanted to ask. 2017 TXT 48v. Trojan Dc-8V batteries.
Nsmustang55ol is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-13-2020, 10:37 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Lester Summit 2 Question Txt 48v

The % charged numbers provided by battery chargers are approximate since the only way to find out how much energy is stored in a lead-acid battery is to measure how much comes out when you drain it. (The Minutes @56A spec is and example of this process)

A lead-acid isn't fully charged until the SG (Specific Gravity) of the electrolyte ceases to increase while a charging current is flowing through it and On-Charge voltage tracks electrolyte SG, so it can be inferred that the battery isn't fully charged until the On-Charge voltage ceases to increase while on charge. The Lester Summit-II uses dV/dT (change in Voltage over change in Time) technology to terminate the charge cycle, but I'm not sure how it calculates % of charge, but it may be to On-Charge voltage compared to an average of On-Charge voltages reached when the dV/dT criteria is reached for the charging profile in use.