lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts > Icon

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-19-2021, 11:12 AM   #1
McDx
Not Yet Wild

Default 48v to 56v upgrade?

I've read a couple threads on people adding a 7th battery running at 56 volts on ezgo carts. I'm wondering about the possibility on our ICONS. Any thoughts?
McDx is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-19-2021, 11:42 AM   #2
ATrain
Gone Wild

Default Re: 48v to 56v upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by McDx View Post
I've read a couple threads on people adding a 7th battery running at 56 volts on ezgo carts. I'm wondering about the possibility on our ICONS. Any thoughts?
Somebody else mentioned 72v in another thread, which is too much, but it had me look up the controller specs and honestly I think it could work just fine?

Again, I'm not an expert in this space, but the "Remark" appears to say the 20-63V acceptable limit is allowable provided the controller stays between -40℃ and 80℃ (176F to -40F).

So if you have the cable & software, you could try and it and use the monitoring software to watch the temperature of the controller.

ATrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2021, 02:57 PM   #3
McDx
Not Yet Wild

I have the programming cable. I will run this test and post the results. Is the state of charge determined by the voltage? Wondering if it will give wrong charge results.
Old 05-19-2021, 04:33 PM   #4
ATrain
Gone Wild

Quote:
I have the programming cable. I will run this test and post the results. Is the state of charge determined by the voltage? Wondering if it will give wrong charge results.
Good question! So the SOC on the display...that might be programmed into the display firmware and may be stuck thinking 51v is "fully charged". That's just the display though.