lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-24-2021, 07:41 PM   #1
Haztech
Not Yet Wild

Default Yamaha g29 electric motor removal video needed

Hi I’m new to this but I have a Yamaha g29 electric golf cart that I suspect the motor is playing up. The cart goes but is very jerky when driving it. I’ve changed throttle sensor, solinoid and controller and cart has new batteries so down to the motor. I’ve been trying to find a video online on how to remove the electric motor but can’t find one. Anyone know of a video or can post a link to one. Thanks
Haztech is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-24-2021, 09:02 PM   #2
Volt_Ampere
Gone Wild
Yamaha

Default Re: Yamaha g29 electric motor removal video needed

Removal isn't too hard unless the motor coupler is stuck. First - Disconnect the batery and remove the plastic cover behind the seat back. Then disconnect the motor wires and unplug the speed sensor that is on the end of the motor. The motor is only held in by three bolts - 10mm. Remove the three bolts that hold the motor to the transaxle. I support the motor with a strap and then work it away from the transaxle and drop it down on the ground. I put the rear wheels on ramps when I do it to make room underneath. Install is reverse. I do all of the hard work from the top.
My experience is with the 2009 and 2012 carts that I own which have the Team transaxle. You did not state the year so I don't know what axle you have. ALso - the stock Hitachi motor is pretty weak and you may just have to replace the brushes to get it back in shape. The symptoms you describe are often the result of failing brushes.
Volt_Ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 09:29 PM   #3
Haztech