lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-14-2015, 11:15 AM   #1
BreezyGreen1
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default New G1 owner - crank no start

Hello, I just purchased an old G1 2 stroke. I have not ascertained the year yet but was told 1978. It ran when I got it, I drove it around the yard several times in 2 days and then it suddenly would only crank over and not start. I am an automotive professional but know nothing about 2 strokes!
BreezyGreen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-15-2015, 10:50 PM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: New G1 owner - crank no start

Principals are the same. Fuel, compression, spark. Check those and report back.
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 07:03 PM   #3
BreezyGreen1
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Ok so I have spark, compression over 100 and I have fuel that is at least making it to the plug but still not fire. It does fire immediately with starting fluid.
Old 12-28-2015, 08:31 AM   #4
BreezyGreen1
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Unhappy Re: New G1 owner - crank no start

aLSO i GOT IT TO FIRE UP AND RUN ENOUGH TO DRIVE A FEW HUNDRED FEET . But I had to block off the carb with my hand to do that, ran once it fired up, But when doing that I also started seeing some mix coming out near the clutch, crank seal maybe?
Old 12-31-2015, 08:41 AM   #5
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

100 psi isn't high enough. You need more compression and on these engines it's usually leaking at the crank seals. That oil you see coming out behind the clutch is from those rubber seals around the crankshaft. Time to order parts.