lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-10-2016, 04:08 PM   #1
hardway
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Slow G2 Rebuild and mod ?'s

Hello. I am new to the cart game and have no friends in the game so I need help.
My cart is a 1990 G2 coded J55-112646. Very cold blooded and it is cold as a witches heart here now. I did run it a little today,only in garage,but it ran. It does leak oil(lots) when I ran it 2 weeks ago when I got it. My son is the family pro on engines so I am waiting on him to help. My first task is to test compression, if it is to low I want to rebuild it. Performance golf carts has a kit for $200. The piston is 50mm over so displacement would go from 285 to ?. Does any one know if this will help speed substantially? Is it worth the money or should I stay stock?
Next, has any one here used any Plowman products? Is the aftermarket muffler all they tote it to be? Is their clutch kit a good replacement or is there another manufacturer you would recommend? Thank you for any and all suggestions and opinions.
hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-10-2016, 09:54 PM   #2
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

Default Re: Slow G2 Rebuild and mod ?'s

All that stuff will help, but if you want more speed/power you may as well spend on a clone kit and you will be far ahead. The stock engine is limited, while plowmans has the best stuff for them you can only do so much. The newer carts he can get going better, but a clone is larger to start with and you can get mods for that cheap. By the time you buy a rebuild kit and have it bored, a clone 420 is only $300 new for the whole engine. A Vegas clone is more but faster too, HD parts in it.