lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-18-2017, 11:15 AM   #1
7lazy77
Not Yet Wild

Default g9 new motor help

Was wondering if could get some help. I have done some reading on old threads, but I am still a little confused. I recently purchased a g9 cart & was told the engine was "rebuilt a couple of years ago"....well, since I am a lacking mechanic skills & not knowing what to look for, I took his word for it. (why wouldn't I, the cart is in great shape cosmetically) The cart recently quit on me & I took it in to the closest golf cart repair shop (90 miles away). Got a call back & I guess the bottom crank is locking up & the bearings are shot....long story short, they are quoting me $1500 for a repair!

I was looking at just getting a new engine to drop in it to see if I could lessen the blow of my recent purchase. I don't think I want to go quite as big as a big block. The cart is simply used around the house & for hunting & camping trips. I would like to gain more speed (16 mph before it quit me) & torque for hauling additional people & equipment. If I understand everything I have read, the 420 clone would probably be the best option? Looked on Vegas Carts website & didn't see any 420, just the 460. Found a Lifan for $415. What else would I need to get in addition if I swapped the engine with the 420 clone? I am trying to calculate cost to see what my best option is, other than the $1500 repair. Thanks for all your help.
7lazy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-18-2017, 01:27 PM   #2
TheNewGuy
Admin/Moderator

Yamaha

Default Re: g9 new motor help

If you are wanting to keep the Yamaha engine, give Don a call.

>> http://www.plowmanscarts.com/

TheNewGuy is offline   Reply With Quote