lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-21-2019, 10:41 AM   #1
Acausing
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default 2010 YDRE, bad solenoid or controller?

Hello Everyone, Newbie here. Bought my first electric cart 2010 YDRE to compliment my gas one 2000 G16A. YDRE was a retired fleet cart from a local golf course. It is completely stock wheels, suspension, controller, motor etc.. It has 4 Trojan 1275’s. It worked fine for the first month and recently developed a problem that was intermittent and now seems permanent. It does not want to RUN!!.
Here is a quick sequence of events. Last week went to drive it and moved the tow switch to run and heard the solenoid “click” but was a little louder than normal, almost a bit of an arcing sound. Turned the key on switched it to reverse and it was fine. A couple days later went to use it again but this time it didn’t move. I switched it to reverse and the buzzer sounded like it had a bad connection or was losing power. Cycled the key and it was fine. Next day went to use it and nothing, let it sit for about an hour went back out and reverse buzzer worked so turned the key on heard a click with a small “arc” sound again. Doesnt click or even move

Today I started to diagnose the problem but my knowledge of electric carts is limited. I thought I narrowed it down to either the solenoid or controller but would appreciate any input on how to isolate the problem.
With the switch on “tow” used a multimeter and tested pack voltage and had 50.4v, tested Voltage on battery Side of the controller 50.4v, controller side of solenoid was 0. Moved the switch to run and retested both sides of the solenoid now only reading 15.0-15.4v which now leaves me stumped. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.