lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-30-2008, 12:32 PM   #1
ram101a
Not Yet Wild

Default 86 CLUB CAR UPGRADE TO 48V Can it be done?

OK, I am new to this, purchased an 86 Club car, 36v with no batteries. Would like to upgrade to 48v while getting the cart up and going. I have never had the cart running but previous owner sad it ran fine 2.5yrs ago when he stored it, it just had bad batteries.
The question here is... What will I need to replace to upgrade the motor to 48v safely? I know I will need new batteries and motor but I don't know what else.
I recently contacted a club car dealer to determine if the motor I have was able to be installed and was told that you can not upgrade an 86 club car. They could not give me and anser but told me they would take the cart on trade for a 48v. Seemed more like they just wanted to sell me a cart then help. If I truely cannot upgrade then fine. I will just have to make this cart purty with a 36v motor!! LOL
Any and all help would be great. Thank you in advance!
ram101a is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-30-2008, 02:48 PM   #2
buckmanmike
Gone Wild

Default Re: 86 CLUB CAR UPGRADE TO 48V Can it be done?

Anything can be done for a price. You need to post what type of resistors, etc that cart now has. If its multi solenoid, I've heard its easier to convert to solid state, but thats a lota dollars.
buckmanmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:56 PM   #3
shadowman
The Last Moja Morani

Club Car

if its a resistor cart its kinda pricey.......better off selling and putting money to a controller cart and than upgrading from there...........................
shadowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:21 PM   #4
rusty
Golf Cart Photographer