lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-07-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
surffish
Not Yet Wild

Default 99 ez go won't move

I am new at trouble shooting my ez go. Here is a little description of what is going on. For starters it wont move. The back up beeper only comes on when the pedal is depressed with a jumper from the pos. battery, to the small hot post on the solonoid. Still won't move. Also mine is a 6 pin and not 10 pin. any body got any ideas. Thanx.....
surffish is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-08-2012, 06:53 AM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 99 ez go won't move

Sounds like you've got a series cart (Series wound motor) and a bad Reed Switch.

Here is a schematic with the Solenoid activation circuit highlighted.
The Reed Switch is in the upper left and is labeled "Ignition Interlock" on the drawing.
It is located in the charger receptacle. Here's a picture with top cover off.

You need to get B+ from battery pack connected to the red wire going into the wire loom to get the cart to run.

The purpose of the Reed Switch was to disable cart so it could not be driven away with charger attached. There were so many failure issues with the Reed Switch, it was bypassed in later models.

Hope this helps. If it isn't the Reed Switch, yell and we'll troubleshoot the system.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wiring Diagram - Series with KSI traced.JPG (58.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Charger receptacle with top off.jpg (71.7 KB, 10 views)
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:14 AM   #3
surffish
Not Yet Wild

Thanx Jonnieb I will check that this A.M. and get back with you.
Old 03-08-2012, 08:14 AM   #4
surffish
Not Yet Wild