lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-09-2021, 05:21 PM   #1
Monziac
Not Yet Wild

Default 36v motor 48 volt batteries conversion

Hi all, I have a 97 Club Car Series cart with resistor pack and vslide pedal. This is my first electric cart but I am an experienced auto mechanic. I have read that I can upgrade the cart to 48v and use the 36v motor for increased speed? Is that accurate? If so do I just need an Alltex controller and which one, HD Solenoid, and 48v pack batteries? Trying to do this on a budget as I am building this for my Mom who just wants to cruise around. Who has a good kit to do this? Thanks, Jon

Last edited by Monziac; 02-09-2021 at 05:26 PM.. Reason: Spelling
Monziac is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-09-2021, 05:33 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: 36v motor 48 volt batteries conversion

Just my .02

You CAN slap 48v batteries in it, buy a 48v charger and it will run great... for a while. Depending on how you use it, and what condition it’s in now it could last a week or it could last years.

Once it blows the resistor or melts the v-glide contacts, you’ll need to convert to 48v proper. You could convert yourself custom, or ScottyB offers a conversion kit to change from the toaster coils to a solid state controller system. Either way, it’s not going to be cheap.

What are the end goals here? Depending on what you’re looking to get out of it in the end, it may be money well spent buying a newer cart that’s already solid state controller based. The resistor setup really limits what you’ll be able to do with it.
CP241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 05:42 PM   #3
Monziac
Not Yet Wild