lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-23-2016, 10:00 AM   #1
Hypersprint
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Can our motors be run under water?

I have been through some deep water and I have never had a problem, I'm not sure if the motor was ever been completely submerged but people ask if it's OK to get these motors wet and I am not sure. I have been doing this for a few years with the same motor so I guess it is a little late asking now but, as long as the rest of the electronics are protected from at least being submerged can a PDS and/or series motors be ran completely submerged?

Thanks
Rob
Hypersprint is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-23-2016, 10:10 AM   #2
Helirich
Gone Wild

Default Re: Can our motors be run under water?

I think it would be ok at first. (It wouldn't quit) But I think the brushes can not be soaked without harm. Maybe if you dried them out real good before running the cart. It seems like I read on this forum that the pedal box under the floor causes problems if submerged. So that would be under long before the motor. Courious to see what others say.
Helirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 10:24 AM   #3
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Pure water is not conductive, but tap water is, as is all water found in ditches, creeks and puddles, so the brush type motors found in Series and SepEx drives wouldn't run very well, if at all, with the segments on the commutator being shorted, or partially shorted, together.

The motors we use are not waterproof by any stretch of the imagination, but unless they are the vented type, they can probably tolerate some splashing. On the other hand, I don't believe they would survive very long if totally submerged.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote