lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-07-2022, 03:41 PM   #1
JustChad
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 1988 EZGO is missing the starter generator

I just picked up a 1988 EZGO gas cart. I'm new to the golf cart world and am excited to get into it. This cart has trouble getting started, more when I put it in reverse than in forward. After a bunch of searching and reading, I noticed it is missing the starter generator motor. Is it necessary to run one? I assume it is but thought I would ask. What’s the best brand and is it hard to add one?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0800.jpg (225.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 66266971462__F8F7F4BF-C8D3-4D96-9231-BE48BDF39DB4.jpg (231.9 KB, 0 views)
JustChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-07-2022, 06:23 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: 1988 EZGO is missing the starter generator

That’s not a 1988. It’s older.

I don’t know exactly what year off the top of my head, someone will know for sure but some of the early carts had the starter/gen internal to the motor. Do you have a picture of the serial number tag?

Looks like you got one of those. You can tell because all the big wires from the forward/reverse shifter go into the motor.
CP241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2022, 06:48 PM   #3
JustChad
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by CP241 View Post
That’s not a 1988. It’s older.

I don’t know exactly what year off the top of my head, dabble or someone will know for sure but some of the early carts had the starter/gen internal to the motor. Do you have a picture of the serial number tag?

Looks like you got one of those. You can tell because all the big wires from the forward/reverse shifter go into the motor.