lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-13-2020, 06:30 PM   #1
jah1386
Not Yet Wild

Default EZGO Marathon Wont Go / Controller J2 J3

I had a 1992 Marathon given to me, and decided to upgrade it to 48v. F/R, solenoid, cables, controller and batteries have all been upgraded. I have 48v everywhere (49.9v to be exact), solenoid clicks, micro switches have been replaced, potentiometer replaced, still the cart will not move in either forward or reverse. However, I noticed that when unplugging the 2 wires (J2 and J3) from the controller and touching the voltmeter leads to the J2 and J3 lugs on continuity, the cart takes off and the wheels are turning. So, what does this mean..what creates this situation and what do I need to fix? I'm no expert in this field, not even close, so thanks in advance for any help/tips anyone can offer.
jah1386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-13-2020, 07:36 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: EZGO Marathon Wont Go / Controller J2 J3

Which controller is installed: SR, AXE, NPX, SPM or SPB; or one of the lesser known ones?

If the wires going to J2 and J3 are black and white, you are putting a voltage on the throttle input and the controller passes amps to the motor, so I suspect the controller is not set to the correct throttle type.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 09:31 PM   #3
jah1386
Not Yet Wild

The controller I installed is a knockoff of the Curtis 1205 controller that I bought on eBay. It's 0-5k and 48v.
Old 10-14-2020, 09:40 AM   #4
jah1386
Not Yet Wild

Just found something else that might help. ScottyB posted this in a previous thread:

CHECKING CONTROLLER OUTPUT Connect (-) probe to controller M- and (+) lead to controller B-