lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-16-2018, 12:21 PM   #1
nicoleise
Not Yet Wild

Default Sepex - only reverse, only one wheel driven

Hello,

An acquintance has purchased a golf cart that they purchased without batteries. According to the seller at the time it "might have" issues with the controllers.

They installed 6 x 8V batteries, but to their disappointment the cart only moved backwards about a foot and then stopped. They asked me to help them look at it. I have no former experience with golf carts, but am an electrical installer/contractor/engineer. Through troubleshooting, I've gotten it in a slightly "better" state as now it's able to move, but only backwards.

I've determined that it must be a Club Car DS with an IQ motor controller Curtis 1510-5202 and a Lester OnBoard Computer (OBC). I've found a diagram of the controller, and information on a bypass kit for the OBC. I've been able to verify that the pin numbers, wiring colours, etc. all match up with the diagram, and have used this for my trouble shooting.

Issues
  1. The cart only drives one rear wheel when raised.
  2. The cart only travels in reverse, regardless of direction switch
  3. The cart doesn't engage the solenoid.
  4. (Bonus) I'd like to disable the OBC, as I think it's blocking the solenoid.

Confirmed working
  • Tow/Run switch
  • Pedal switch
  • Pedal potentiometer
  • Solenoid coil
  • Reverse buzzer (sounds tired though)
  • Direction switch

As I've tested these items functionality at the harness end (plugs) at the controller and OBC respectively, the wiring is included in the test.

Identified faulty components
  • Key switch, unstable output voltage
  • Battery light, defective