lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-13-2020, 02:17 PM   #1
manimal13
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Club Car DS 2001 V-Glide/motor?

I have an older DS with the transistor coils and something was burning and stinking under the seat. Realized it was the V-Glide and I replaced it. Drove it about 20 yards and it started stinking and getting super hot again. Wires from the motor to main neg/pos were super hot. I have no experience with this set up. Anybody got any ideas? Also, the motor making a clunky sound. Would a bad motor heat up those cables and melt the V-Glide?

Thank you in advance.
manimal13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-13-2020, 05:55 PM   #2
TahoeDawgZ71
revolutiongolfcars.com

Club Car

Default Re: Club Car DS 2001 V-Glide/motor?

Yes most definitely. Disconnect the power from the battery pack, disconnect all four wires from the motor, and do a continuity test between A1 and A2, again from S1 to S2. You should have good continuity on both tests, with a beep from your meter. If it passes both tests, that's good. Then you can check for a short. Check each of the four terminals from the terminal to the case of the motor for continuity. If there's any continuity at all, you have a short. If there's any continuity between an A terminal and an S terminal, there's a short. That can cause your issue for sure.
TahoeDawgZ71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 09:36 AM   #3
manimal13
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Thank you Tahoe!!
Old 01-20-2020, 03:00 PM   #4
manimal13
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Hey TahoeDawg, new motor and V-Glide. Drives like a dream now. Thanks for the help!
Old 01-21-2020, 12:17 PM   #5
TahoeDawgZ71
revolutiongolfcars.com

Club Car

You're welcome.