lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-04-2020, 06:33 PM   #1
ATrain
Gone Wild

Default Can I put a 48v battery from a wrecked Honda Hybrid in my golf cart?

I am brand new to electric golf carts, but I just purchased a 2001 Western, which I believe is just an EZGO, and I want to replace the batteries with lithium ion...which I'm seeing are very expensive.

So I found a 48v 1.22kwh battery that came out of a wrecked 2018 Honda hybrid for pretty cheap compared to "golf cart LI batteries".

Why won't this work or will it?

ATrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-04-2020, 07:11 PM   #2
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Can I put a 48v battery from a wrecked Honda Hybrid in my golf cart?

Don't know much of anything about Li battery packs, chargers or BMS systems, but my calculator says a 1.22kWh 48V battery pack is only about 25AH and the Li packs put together by most cart owners have several times that storage capacity.

Four or more in parallel might work, but there are charging issues to be solved.

Of course, I might be wrong, hopefully someone with more knowledge on the subject will drop in.
JohnnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 07:16 PM   #3
ATrain
Gone Wild

Default Re: Can I put a 48v battery from a wrecked Honda Hybrid in my golf cart?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieB View Post
Don't know much of anything about Li battery packs, chargers or BMS systems, but my calculator says a 1.22kWh 48V battery pack is only about 25AH and the Li packs put together by most cart owners have several times that storage capacity.

Four or more in parallel might work, but there are charging issues to be solved.