lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-19-2014, 09:05 AM   #1
izzydroolin
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Neutral or Reverse Only... cant get into Fwd "Gear"

Hello Everyone! I'm new to BGW, though I've been lurking for a while now. I'm super glad to have found these forums. In most cases I have been able to find exactly what I was lookin for until now. There are a couple few similar posts, but nothing exact. So here we go...

(BACKGROUND)
I have been rebuilding a 98 txt since January, my very 1st cart. About 2 weeks ago, after replacing the solenoid, the starter/generator went out. Instead of cleaning the brushes, I decided to go with a new one for peace of mind, and resell-ability. I took pictures of the connections, removed the old and replaced with the new. I was crusin' around all evening just fine until I smelled something at a stop. I noticed smoke and thought it was old oil burning off the manifold. I checked under the seat, and the FWD cable was melted! I put it in neutral, and pushed the gas. The cable started sparking HUGE sparks from the engine mount plate, just below the F&R switch. I noticed the exposed portion of the cable was glowing FORGE RED. I killed it right then and there, called my brother up the street and we trailered it back to my garage. I ordered a replacement cable and, while I waited for it to arrive, I checked and tightened any loose grounds or cables to try and resolve the resistance issue.