lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-29-2017, 08:45 PM   #1
beachcarter
Gone Wild

Default Precedent runs without the key

Hello all, I've been a member here for quite some time but I've always hung out in the gas EZGO and clone motor section. I'm new to the electric side. Due to purchasing an RV and most campgrounds only allowing electric carts my clone powered EZGO had to go. I was lucky enough to make an even trade for a nice already customized 2010 club car precedent. Not sure of the age of the batteries so in the 3 days I've owned it I've been paying very close attention to the performance aspect of it and battery duration. So far I am highly pleased. One thing I've noticed, sometimes when I get on the cart the battery light is lit. It goes out and then comes back on. Off and on intermittently. I didn't think much of it while I was riding the cart but when I found the light on even with the key off and not in it was still lit. So today I decided without putting the key in to just hit the accelerator pedal and see if that triggers something to turn the light off. Much to my surprise the cart took off. My question are, 1. Is this a faulty key switch? 2. With the cart on even without the key is anything "energized" that could drain the battery while sitting? My next question is related to performance. Are the speed magnets worth it and do they do Much? Again I am pleased with the performance right from the get go. It does have a lift kit with 22" tires and run 19mph, a couple times I even got it to hit 20 mph on gps. Because it is a used cart I don't know the history of it. I don't know if it has the speed code 4 in it or may even already have the magnet. Is 19-20mph common with a stock 48 volt cart with a lift and 22" tires? If so and I find that the cart