lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-09-2011, 10:47 PM   #1
Yamaha_G1
Not Yet Wild
Cushman

Question Yamaha G1 Newbie

Let me start by thanking everyone here for great information and posts. I literally spent hours reading posts. I didn't know anything about golf carts just a few days ago... Now I even know what a muffler BBQ is...

I just purchased a non running Yamaha G1 for what I think is a steal, $300. I have not pulled the serial number to determine what year it is but I have done the following.

New Air Filter and Pre Filter
Spark plug
Fuel Filter
Drained the old gas
cleaned carb

After getting the fuel through the system it fired right up.... Check the compression, which I have never done before, with a $10 harbor freight I got 110.

I wanted to ensure that the oil pump is working and that I am getting a proper mixture. I don't want to blow the engine. I have read posts that state very little oil comes out of the tube but I didn't see any. I am looking at the smaller tube that is going from the oil pump to the carb. I then put a clear oil filter in line on the feeder tube, the larger one coming from the oil tank but the oil doesn't seem to be going through the filter. If I blow into the oil tank there is plenty of flow through the filter but nothing out of the little tube.

here are a few questions.

1) should I just premix? I have seen many suggestions for both methods. And I like the no fuss reliable oil injection system.
2) should I even use an oil filter
3) what is the best way to ensure the pump is working
4) it is very possible that the oil pump is clogged. How can I check/fix this
5) is there anything else I should check/replace before putting it in service

Thanks in advance for the replies