lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric golf carts
Electric golf carts Harley Davidson, Melex, Pargo, Taylor-Dunn and other Misc. Carts.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-21-2016, 05:50 PM   #1
B747VET
Not Yet Wild

Mixed Breed

Default AC 48v Western Charging Questions

I am an electric vehicle novice respectfully requesting some input on a couple of questions from the forum experts. My cart was modified by the previous owner about three years ago as far as I know. The specs and equipment in the sig below are as accurate as I can be right now. FWIW, I try to charge before it goes below 50% and closely monitor the water levels at least weekly and immediately after each charge cycle.

Very happy with handling, acceleration, and speed range. Seems to be no regenerative motor braking however. I understand that can be a controller programming issue with many cart systems.

The system seems to charge up very well, but after the charge the digital gauge often does not reflect the new post charge volts and the new % charge. It instead shows the volts and % charge that existed before the charge began. This is especially true if I charge before it drops below about 75%.

So, for example, after charging is completed, the digital gauge might often still indicate the 65% charge and 40 volts it had before charging. If I then run the cart for a couple of minutes at speed while using the headlights and ventilation fans to load the system, the digital gauge will usually jump to 50 volts and 100% charge and the charge indicator lights will go from yellow or red to the green light "full charge" indication.

Some have told me this isn't all that unusual and that it isn't a big deal, but, again, I would appreciate some feedback on such issues from the experts around here. Many thanks.
B747VET is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links