lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-29-2021, 12:06 PM   #1
staplehawk
Not Yet Wild

Default Grinding, won't move, but not axle.

I'm new to carts but not mechanics. My carts instantly stalled on me one day while driving. It was grinding near the drivers side wheel, so I instantly assumed it was the hub. Pulled it apart and sure enough, drivers hub was pretty stripped. Bought new ones and put them on. Now, however, it still doesn't move and the grinding is coming more from the motor area. I already pulled the axle out and took diff cover off. I see no obvious stripped areas or gear pieces missing. I assume it's the connection from motor to diff area, but where should I start? Not sure what the chances are the both are stripped, but it's my lucky day I guess.
staplehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-29-2021, 12:15 PM   #2
camaroluvz28
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: Grinding, won't move, but not axle.

Sounds like either your motor couple or input shaft is stripped out...best bet is to pull motor and check both sides...be careful, if it is stripped that bad to grind the motor will start dropping on its own as soon as the last bolt starts being removed so brace for it...
camaroluvz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2021, 01:30 PM   #3
staplehawk
Not Yet Wild

Sounded exactly like my issue. I took your advice and pulled the motor off, but those gears look fine. I wrapped paper towel around the top gear and put vice grips on it. Then turned the hub with diff plate off so I could see. When I turn the hub, the biggest gear inside the diff doesn't turn, but looks like everything to that point turns.
Old 06-29-2021, 02:14 PM   #4
camaroluvz28
Gone Wild

Yamaha